Mouseover click ?

Questions and answers about anything related to Helium Scraper
webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:39 am
Contact:

Re: Mouseover click ?

Post by webmaster » Sat May 26, 2012 8:02 pm

Hi,

The input must be there. Try using the select parent button two or three times and then click on View code. See if the input is there. Is so then use not just the Select parent button but also Select first child and Select next sibling until you reach the input.

I'm not sure how are you doing this with selenium but whatever input element selenium uses should be the same you use on Helium Scraper.
Juan Soldi
The Helium Scraper Team

derba
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 8:03 pm

Re: Mouseover click ?

Post by derba » Sun May 27, 2012 11:44 am

Hi Juan ,
Many thanks. ;)
The input must be there. Try using the select parent button two or three times and then click on View code. See if the input is there.
If I use the https_url the third "input" row is not there ! see : http://www.sendspace.com/file/3je4vf
I have the two others (one for username and the other for password) but not the third ! (see image sent before http://www.sendspace.com/file/7cytbg)
It is the same if I select the whole page and then click on view code ( then CTL+F and search for "input") !
It is strange as I see this third "input" in Firefox firebug (see image sent before http://www.sendspace.com/file/iceciq).

I have also noticed the following : If I use the autopager addon in firefox with the https_url I can select the "log in" button
http://www.sendspace.com/file/71i081
but in the result (see left bottom part) I just have the text "log in" but not the button in itself.
http://www.sendspace.com/file/evv5u5


May I assume that the problem comes from the "z-index = -1" ?
The little square is appearing in Helium if I drag a htm file but it is hidden with the https_url.
From what I understand when I select the "Log In" button in Helium it overrides the little square. So it is hidden below the "log in" button !

Let's do a test for "z-index = -1" :
Try adding "-1" in the blue dark rectangle on the right and select "absolute" in this url : http://tjkdesign.com/articles/z-index/t ... _stack.asp
You should get the following :
http://www.sendspace.com/file/5lchf8
As you can see the blue rectangle on the left has disappeared.

I don't know but maybe these other links may help : http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/tryit.a ... css_zindex
http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_pos_z-index.asp
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ie/archive/2006 ... 14076.aspx

I hope this helps ;)
Thanks in advance ;)
ps: I did not use selenium. It was just taken as an example.

webmaster
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:39 am
Contact:

Re: Mouseover click ?

Post by webmaster » Tue May 29, 2012 7:56 pm

Hi,

I don't think the z-index should be a problem. That will only make the element invisible, but it will still be on the HTML. When exactly do you see the element on the HTML and when you don't see it? Does it appear when you hover over the Log In text? Could this be a button that is dynamically created every time you hover your mouse over something? Also, if all you want is to press a button to submit a form you could then select the form itself with a kind and then use javascript's submit method to submit it.
Juan Soldi
The Helium Scraper Team

Post Reply